Skip to content

Why GTD

July 23, 2009

I began using the GTD methodology in 2008 after going to see David Allen at CSUCI in Camarillo, CA David was kind enough to do a free 1 hours talk on Getting Things Done for the school of business. What he said made since to me. What he said was not anything new or out of this world it was just the practical way that he said it that clicked with me. The next day I checked out his book and read it in about 4 days it all made since to me. Now let me tell you before going to this event I was sure that I had early onset Alzheimer’s I could not remember anything and I mean anything, my wife would say don’t you remember this or that and I would stare at her thinking nope don’t remember that at all. I am a Husband, Father, Christian, Youth Pastor and Network Administrator for a software company. So needless to say like many of you I have way too many things going on to remember. After reading GTD and setting up a system that works for me, I can now stay on top of all my rolls in life and when I am not doing something I can know that I am not doing it with confidence that I am not forgetting it. Notice what I said in the last sentence “set up a system that works for me” that is the cool thing about GTD it’s not a rigid set of rules or an expensive piece of software that you have to spend hours to learn it’s a methodology that you can apply to any system whether it be paper based, software based or a combination of the two, it can be on your computer or in the cloud somewhere it’s up to you to figure out what works best for you. My goal is to write a few short articles about how I have set up GTD in my life and maybe it will help you set up a system that will help you Get Things Done in your life.

No comments yet

Leave a comment